Why Leaning In is Killing Us

I am forgoing my usual Weekend/Workout recap to talk about something I ran across on the internet today.

I loved this article.  In all fairness, I have yet to read Sheryl Sandberg’s book, mostly because the waiting list for it at the library is insanely long.  But I know a great number of people who have read it and I’ve discussed it enough to understand the basic concepts.  I see the point in what she says, but I think this article better articulates what the real problems are.

I am so ready to recline, and I wish that didn’t sound lazy.  I am all for working late when you absolutely need to work late.  However, I think if you absolutely need to work late all the time, either you are wasting a lot of time during the day or you have a serious management problem (ie you’re understaffed). Unfortunately, this is how a lot of places operate, and I’ve worked in those places and it sucks.

The other, sneakier, problem is the concept of “facetime”.  I don’t think I should have to be at work just because my boss is at work. I think that if I’m flexible enough with my personal time that I will work late when I need to, I should be able to be flexible with my work time as well, and if I have a slow day I should be able to leave early.  That’s all I mean by being ready to recline.  It doesn’t sound like a big shift, but in a lot of work environments it is. So I’m ready to start reclining, who’s with me?

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “Why Leaning In is Killing Us

  1. Heather Stewart

    I saw that you said you didn’t read the book and I saw in the article that the writer said that she did. This confused me a little as I read through the article, though. If she read the book, it must have been a while ago because there are specific chapters on not doing all the housework and parenting yourself (not that I wish to upset already set routines for other existing families with this concept and I do acknowledge that single parents don’t even have that option) and for making sure that you make time for your family. It’s also about encouraging your spouse to do the same so that you can have more down time when you need it.
    I understand her points, but it doesn’t sound like she ever considered that she wasn’t just leaning in, but leaning so far in that she tumbled the chair forward. Just my thought.
    I otherwise agree completely about taking the time to recline sometimes. It’s needed in these crazy times.

    • I completely agree that the author of the article took leaning in way too far, but I really liked her underlying points. It’s also nice to have someone acknowledge that life is about more than working and getting ahead. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

